PremiumTimes EXCLUSIVE: Full List of 72 CBT Centres Blacklisted By JAMB, And Their Offences

The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) on Wednesday announced the blacklisting of 72 of the 600 Computer Based Test (CBT) centres used for the 2017 Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) across the country.

JAMB’s registrar, Is-haq Oloyede, said the blacklisting of some of the centres was due to their alleged involvement in extortion and “organised examination malpractice” during the UTME.

A few others are technically deficient, the examination body said.

Mr. Oloyede said the decision was taken at the end of an enlarged meeting with external examiners and other stakeholders in the conduct of the examination.

On Thursday, the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) commended JAMB for the action.

The President of the union, Biodun Ogunyemi, told the News Agency of Nigeria in Lagos that the owners of the blacklisted centres should also be prosecuted.

The ASUU boss said the development was a step in the right direction, describing it as “ the way to go.’’
“What JAMB has done in that respect is a welcome development and a good decision,” Mr. Ogunyemi said. “I will not expect it to stop at just blacklisting of such centres.

“The leadership of the board should go a step forward by prosecuting owners of the affected centre in order to serve as a deterrent to others.This measure will further ensure that the integrity of the examination cannot be undermined.”
He added that JAMB should also strive to do thorough checks on centres and their owners before engaging them for the conduct of the UTME to avoid a re-occurrence.

PREMIUM TIMES has now obtained a full list of the affected centres in 18 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

A review of the list shows that while 38 of them were outrightly delisted for misconducts and gross technical deficiencies, 24 of them were suspended for one year for technical deficiencies.

Further analysis shows that 13 centres were blacklisted in Abia State, 10 in Rivers, nine in Anambra, six in Akwa Ibom, six in Delta, and six in Imo.

Other affected states have between one and three centres blacklisted.