Any Gmail user, who regrets a message they just sent, has the option to undo the action, provided they are quick enough, a report said on Wednesday.
It added that the new “Undo Send’’ option allowed a message to be retrieved, so long as it is clicked upon within 30 seconds of the “Send’’ command being hit.
Dubbed “Undo Send,” the new functionality was born of an experimental feature that has been available in Gmail Labs for quite some time. As Google announced on its official App blog in the U.K., Undo Send is now available to all users.
Here’s how to enable Undo Send:
- On the Gmail website, click the gear icon in the top-right corner and select Settings.
- On the General Tab, you should now see Undo Send listed as the tenth option.
- To enable it, check the box next to Enable Undo Send.
- Now choose the length of time you’d like to have the ability to recall your sent emails from the drop-down menu. Options include 5, 10, 20 and 30 seconds.
The feature is really quite simple; it basically configures a delay on your Send button. Instead of firing off your emails when you click Send, it holds them for however long you configure, and then sends them. This way, if you realize you sent something you didn’t mean to, you can recall it.
Once Undo Send is enabled, you’ll see this box at the top of the Gmail page after each email you send: